Greetings

6 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
 Kaz
(@kaz)
Topic starter

Greetings Guitar Noise community!

My name is Colin but most of the time, I go by Kaz online. I am from Montreal, currently attending McGill university in Engineering.

I started playing the acoustic guitar relatively late, at the end of my second semester which was a little more than a year ago. I've wanted to play the guitar since I was 5 but for really silly reasons (now that I reflect upon it), I never ended up picking it up. What changed my mind was a point, where I felt really overwhelmed. A friend of mine came over and lent me his acoustic guitar. Long story short, I've been playing it ever since (even bought it off of him).

At first, I really tried to play anything and everything that had an acoustic guitar in it. The first song I ever learned fully was Dust in the Wind. A rare case I think among all the starters? My major issue was that my fingerpicking was progressing much faster than my strumming, it's still the case. I believe I learned Wonderwall only after 3-4 songs.

The very first song I ever learned that I loved was Don't Panic by Coldplay. That's actually how I found this site. Ever since then, I couldn't stop visiting, namely David Hodge's lessons because it was thanks to him I learned that Coldplay song. David, if you're reading this, thank you!

I finally signed up to the forums because I am still learning and I always seem to have questions on how to play a particular song but those questions are left unanswered. Currently there is this strumming pattern which I've been dying to learn but been unable to. Hopefully I'll manage eventually when the site saves me again! And later on, I would be able to help others who were in my situation.

Well that's it for now.

"Music can be like perfume, it's almost a scent, you know, where the right smell changes an environment and makes life more bearable." ~ Imogen Heap

Posted : 02/09/2006 3:35 pm
(@biker_jim_uk)
Honorable Member