Clear all

Hello from Chippenham, UK

12 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@geoff-h)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Hello everbody, I have been lurking for a while, after stumbling across the GN web site. thanks to Nick and Alan G for sorting out my registration problem.

My guitar history - so far.
About 8 years ago my girlfriend (now wife) bought me a basic Vintage acoustic lefty, as I had always wanted to learn, but arrived in my mid forties without ever getting one. She then enrolled me as a complete beginner at the local college for a course of 12 or so lessons, this was useful at first, but I found that we were only progressing at the pace of the slowest class member. I began to grab some tab of my favourite songs and tried a few of the songs for beginners and intermediates from GN lessons. Excellent lessons, certainly for me - thank you all.

A friend who played electric rythym in an Elvis tribute band put together for a charity gig, asked if I would be interested in playing acoustic. Wow, several practises later and after learning to strum 20 or so Elvis hits using mostly the basic chords, I played my first and (almost) only gig. After that event, sadly the band members moved in different directions, but I had the bug!

Unfortunately, due to the arrival of our two boys and the lack of a project to focus on, I put my guitar away .