Notifications
Clear all

Hello from Illinois

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@zoneiii)
Topic starter

I may be the oldest beginner here! I played guitar back in the 60s but I was never any good. In 1970, I traded my Mosrite guitar for a Guild 12-string and sold my Gretsch Viking to someone who deserved it. I put the 12-string away and forgot about it. My son, who, unlike me, actually had talent, became a very accomplished guitarist and he even played a set with Buddy Guy. But he must have taken the old Guild to parties and beaches when he was a teenager because it became an old beater over the years. I retired as an engineer early about 9 years ago and about three years ago I dug around in the closet and found the old Guild. It was a mess and I almost just tossed it in the garbage. But being a very good woodworker who has builds and restores museum grade period furniture, I had the skills to totally restore the guitar so I did. I then took it to a luthier to re-set the neck and set it up and the Guild is now more beautiful and plays better than it did when new. But I put it away for a couple years until recently. I'm having a ball with it now and I am making faster progress than I did when I was young and this website has been a huge help to me.

I'm also a professional large format photographer. Check out my temporary website if you like. http://tjohnstonphoto.com/

I'll probably be posting lots of questions in the beginners forum. It's so much fun to be playing again!

Posted : 06/10/2009 2:50 am
(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member

Welcome to GN! 8)

"The only way I know that guarantees no mistakes is not to play and that's simply not an option". David Hodge

Posted : 06/10/2009 10:03 am
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member

Welcome to Guitar Noise! We look forward to seeing you around the forums!! :D

..· ´¨¨)) -:¦:-
¸.·´ .·´¨¨))
((¸¸.·´ .·´
-:¦:- ((¸¸.·´ -:¦:- Elecktrablue -:¦:-