Howdy from Minnesota

13 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@jick-jackson)
Estimable Member
Topic starter

Hi all, lurked a bit and decided to register, so here's me:

I've been playing guitar for 25 years and piano for 34. I am 38 right now so started young. I was mad at my folks when they still made me go to piano lessons when I was 8 because I thought I knew it all at 7 but am really thankful in retrospect . At 12 or 13 I played my big bro's Pan SG copy (which I wasn't allowed to touch) and figured out a little from what I knew about music from piano and trying to play along with what I liked at the time (Husker Du REM and the 'Mats come to mind). I finally got a tele copy of unknown origin and took 1 lesson at Schmitt music. The guy said I was doing it wrong (My fingers are super long and I like to hook my thumb over the top and often fret with it) so i quit lessons but kept on playing and teaching myself (some moments of "eureka" could fill whole other threads).

I played keys and rhythm gtr in a couple of bands and then started a 3 piece sans keys, playing kind of mix of country and punk rock, no covers (except obscure or totally inappropriate). The bass player and I switched off on instruments and sang and wrote together. I never thought much about what gear I was using, as long as my guitar, amp and pedal could do clean and distorted OK. I used an Am Std tele w/hot rails bridge pup and a silver-face twin with a DS-1 mostly. We went on to some modest success for a few years, toured the middle third of the US a couple of times in an old POS Suburban til it died in Missoula, shopped a demo around with some interest and then we just kind of imploded. Lots of alcohol (pretty much me and the bass player/other singer/cowriter) and some personal problems played no small part in that.