Clear all

I am amazed.

12 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@squaresville)
Topic starter

Good day, everyone!

I'm completely new to the guitar and music in general (barring a tragic encounter with a trombone back in 5th grade band) and have just discovered this, frankly, astounding site. I mean - come on - all of these extremely useful, well written lessons backed up with active forums filled with massively encouraging and helpful members? I'm in guitar newbie heaven!

Well, then..
I'm a 33 year old fellow living in Jacksonville, FL, a novice digital illustrator/designer studying to not be a novice.

After many years of enjoying progressive rock such as Yes, Jethro Tull and Rush and "meaning" to begin learning the guitar I've finally begun - with my amazing girlfriend/soon to be fiance to inspire and cheer me on (she's a very talented self-taught drummer and keyboardist.) Up until now, I've only had access to visual forms of expression and this new direction has really lit a new fire in my brain and heart.

Not surprisingly, the likes of Steve Howe and Martin Barre are huge inspirations and will doubtless be influences in my development. Steve Howe's jazz guitar roots morphed into prog rock already influenced my first guitar purchase - an Ibanez AF75 archtop. I still get goosebumps looking at it and picking it up to practice chords. I adore it, even though I've barely begun to learn what I may be able to do with it.

So, I just wanted to say hello and express how lucky I feel to have discovered such a rich resource and community right as I'm taking my absolute first steps.

I'm one of those types who reads a lot more than speaks and I tend to search thoroughly for an already answered question before posting, so I may not appear massively active, but I'm here: soaking in all of your invaluable advice!

Thanks everyone!

Posted : 28/02/2007 7:16 pm
(@denny)
Reputable Member

Hi Squaresville. Welcome to GN.

Posted : 28/02/2007 7:37 pm
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member