Clear all

New to the Guitar and the Noise!

16 Posts
14 Users
0 Likes
(@enosmac1972)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Hey everyone! I'm new to the guitar, had mine for about a month. Always wanted to learn to play. Now that I'm 35 and settled down in life, I needed a new hobby, so here I am. I tried to learn when I was younger, around 20ish, and actually bought an American Fender Strat at that time (1993 I think?) with intentions of learning to play. However, this was before the internet, and the only way to really learn was with lessons or (too expensive at the time) or from someone else (didn't have any friends that played) or books.

Anyways, thank goodness for technology and the internet, as I have found sites like this to help me out! (As well as various interactive computer programs and such). I can already say I'm better in 1 month than I was with way back then with 6 months with playing with that Stratocaster. Too bad that guitar is long gone, man I wish I had it back. For now I bought a cheap Dean entry level guitar (Vendetta XM). I wanted to make sure I was gonna stick with it before I dropped some cash. I'm positive I am, so now I'm looking at upgrading to a mid-range guitar, probably an Epiphone Les Paul Standard Plus Top, or Fender Mex Strat, or maybe a Dean Hardtail. Really depends on how the neck feels with my big palms and short fingers :) Once I test them all out I'll know, unless someone else has got any suggestions in the $400-$600 range.

I'd like to learn some classic rock, geek rock, and some blues as I get better.

Anything else, just ask away... I'm not shy at all, and definitely a rambler!

Thanks to all the writers at Guitarnoise also, this site rocks and I'm sure I'll be a long time member!

Agile AL-3100 Cherry Sunburst Slim Neck (2008)
Dean Vendetta XM (2008)
Line 6 Spider III 15W
Line 6 TonePort UX1
Marshall MS-2 5W

Posted : 13/07/2008 10:19 pm
(@elecktrablue)
Famed Member