Nick Names

73 Posts
55 Users
0 Likes
21.2 K Views
(@the-dali)
Noble Member

Ha - I love this thread.

All (ok, most) of you have really interesting stories!

My nickname started in college. I organized a lot of parties and games and random college stuff and people started calling me the Dali Lima (instead of Steve Lima) obviously referencing the spiritual tibetan leadership of the Dalai Lama. Of course, none of us knew how to spell it, so everyone started writing it like the artist (Salvatore Dali) and it ended up as The Dali Lima.

The name really became popular for me after college when I started playing in a bunch of golf tournaments and leagues... so the obvious Caddyshack golf references started getting used quite a bit: The Dalai Lama, himself. Twelfth son of the Lama. The flowing robes, the grace, bald... striking. So, I'm on the first tee with him. I give him the driver. He hauls off and whacks one -- big hitter, the Lama -- long, into a ten-thousand foot crevice, right at the base of this glacier. And do you know what the Lama says? Gunga galunga...gunga -- gunga galunga. So we finish the eighteenth and he's gonna stiff me. And I say, "Hey, Lama, hey, how about a little something, you know, for the effort, you know." And he says, "Oh, uh, there won't be any money, but when you die, on your deathbed, you will receive total consiousness." So I got that goin' for me, which is nice.

So from there... it took off...In fact, most people just call me The Dali.

I use that name on most online boards and sites... so if you see The Dali Lima, or The_Dali_Lima somewhere give a shout because it is probably me!

-=- Steve

"If the moon were made of ribs, would you eat it?"

Posted : 15/06/2006 1:23 pm
(@bourgeoisbabe)
Trusted Member

bourgeois is for my bourgeois acoustic guitar. babe sounded good and makes sense since I am a beginner.

Life pushes hard. Push back.

Posted : 24/06/2006 6:28 pm
(@dagwood)
Noble Member