Old Bluesplayer in Kalamazoo

10 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@stratman_el84)
Estimable Member
Topic starter

Greetings all!

I'm a 50-YO bluesplayer in Kalamazoo Michigan. Been playing for over 35 years now. I play in a regional gospel-based blues band.
I'm also a retired electronics technician, with about the same number of years of vacuum-tube amp experience in both the repair and design/construction areas. I play strictly by ear, so my contributions to the forum in the music theory area will be meager. However, I hope to be able to provide a helping hand especially in the area of amps/FX/general electronics and also in the areas of practical onstage/performance/setup techniques and tips.

My main working guitar is a G&L Tribute Legacy, which I play through either or both a Seymour-Duncan 84-40 1-12 all-tube combo (4-6BQ5/EL84's), and a modified (by me) Stromberg-Carlson Signet 22 early-'60s era PA amp (2-6BQ5/EL84's w/GZ34 rectifier) pushing a 2-12 cabinet.

Strat

Posted : 31/10/2007 11:09 pm
(@bluezoldy)
Reputable Member

Hi Strat,

And welcome. :)

I would love to be able to say one day that I've been playing for 35 years but as I'm about to turn 59 and have only been playing for a few weeks, I doubt that's going to happen. :lol:

Stromberg-Carlson is a name I haven't heard for a long time. Did they make TVs? I seem to recall our family having a Stromberg-Carlson TV in the late 50s, perhaps early 60s.

Cheers,
Ron ...

♪♫ Ron ♪♫

http://www.myspace.com/bluemountainsblues

Posted : 31/10/2007 11:53 pm
(@wrkngclsshero)
Trusted Member

I've been to Kalamzoo once before. Welcome to the forums.

"A working class hero is something to be..." -J. Lennon

Posted : 01/11/2007 10:31 pm
(@stratman_el84)
Estimable Member
Topic starter

Thanks for the warm greetings!

wrkngclsshero, hope your visit was a pleasant one.