Clear all

Old dude with a stringed noisemaker

11 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@mystery2me)
Topic starter

Hello,
I am new to the forum and to guitar. All my moms best attempts to teach me piano, organ, playing sax in school, later hammered dulcimer and now guitar....master of none, plinker on any and all. At my now more senior years I would like to actually become proficient at an instrument and so here we go. I have a Yamaha FG730 bought a year or two ago but only recently started paying her much attention. I look forward to the adventure.

Phil
Gapland MD

Posted : 23/02/2017 12:06 am
(@landog)
Eminent Member

Hey Phil, welcome!

I'm an older beginner too, about 2 weeks in.

One of my dogs still leaves the room whenever I pick up the guitar. Hopefully that will change soon.

Cheers!
Steve

Posted : 23/02/2017 3:55 pm
(@mystery2me)
Topic starter

Funny, actually the wife wanders on while I practice. I think she likes knowing where I am. Kind of like putting a bell on my collar.

Phil

Posted : 23/02/2017 5:02 pm
 Bish
(@bish)
Famed Member

Welcome to the forum!!

Bish

"I play live as playing dead is harder than it sounds!"

Posted : 24/02/2017 5:31 am
(@landog)
Eminent Member

Hey Phil,

That's funny about the wife.

How is your practice going?

My fingers are killing me still, but I can now go about 15 minutes practicing chords before I have to give them a break.

I've been able to manage about 2 hrs a day between sight reading training, chords, and scales.

It's slow going but I can see progress.

Cheers!
Steve

Posted : 24/02/2017 12:42 pm
(@mystery2me)
Topic starter

Steve,