What's Happenin' Everybody?

8 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@xplorervoodoo)
Trusted Member
Topic starter

Hey guys/girls.

31 y/o self-taught fella here. Been "playing" since I was about 19. I wouldn't call myself a particularly good player, nor particularly well-versed in theory, but I find it an entertaining and rewarding hobby.

I have a modest collection of equipment, consisting of a Gibson Explorer Voodoo, a Warmoth Stratocaster, a Squier Classic Vibe J-Bass, and an Epiphone DR-500. I have a Marshall Zakk Wylde mini-stack (yay apartment living!), a Fender Studio 85, and a variety of pedals (mostly Boss, but also an MXR, an EH, and a Morley)

I'm looking forward to browsing the forums, and hopefully learning many new things - Lord knows I have a LOT to learn...

Anyway, it's a pleasure to be a part of this forum. Hopefully I'll be able to add things here and there on the boards :)

Adam (Xplorervoodoo)

Tone is subjective.

Posted : 06/11/2011 5:48 am
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member

I have the same bass. The rest of equipment is different... wait... I also have a MXR pedal.

If that is your goal, you will learn a lot here. I did it and keep doing.

Welcome to GN! :D

Posted : 06/11/2011 1:07 pm
(@xplorervoodoo)
Trusted Member
Topic starter

Thanks! Already found it enjoyable just from browsing :)

Tone is subjective.

Posted : 06/11/2011 3:34 pm
 Crow
(@crow)
Honorable Member

Welcome, XPV! Just caught your note on Devin Townsend in the "open tunings" board -- are you primarily an open-tuned player?

"You can't write a chord ugly enough to say what you want to say sometimes, so you have to rely on a giraffe filled with whipped cream." - Frank Zappa

Posted : 06/11/2011 5:41 pm
(@xplorervoodoo)
Trusted Member
Topic starter

No sir, but I enjoy a lot of open tuned songs. My personal "standard tuning" right now is actually 1/2 step down.

Tone is subjective.

Posted : 07/11/2011 1:43 am
(@xplorervoodoo)
Trusted Member
Topic starter