Notifications
Clear all

British Seminar/get-together 2006.....

62 Posts
24 Users
0 Likes
24.2 K Views
(@Anonymous)

OK, I may be a newbie here but a meet sounds like a good laff!

I have one little nag in my mind that I can't ignore though..........
I have tried to organise jams before, and this only involved people who went to my university. Hardly anyone actualy turned up even though loads pledged to come, and the few who did turn up made me feel.......inadequate, I think is the word. They were off and running, playing songs I'd never heard of and had no hope of learning to play at that time, while I sat there like a lemon desperately trying to save face, especially as I was the organiser!

So, as a relative newbie to the guitar, (ok 18 months isn't exactly a newbie, but I am totally self taught and am sure that I am no - where the skill level of a intermediate player) who doesn't exactly have a wealth of songs he can play on either an acoustic of electric guitar (mostly I have learnt songs by Green Day as they are my fav band at present, together with a few of Travis's songs) can I come along and not end up looking like a total...........well, inadequate player! (As you might be able to tell, I hold a somewhat pessimistic view, as I have low self-esteem and belief!)

Posted : 01/01/2006 9:40 pm
(@ignar-hillstrom)
Illustrious Member

Who gives a crap if you're good enough. Maybe I'm a better player then you, maybe you're better then I am. It ain't no competition and if we run out of stuff to do we can always get ourselves another beer. :D

Posted : 01/01/2006 11:19 pm
 Nils
(@nils)
Famed Member

Who gives a crap if you're good enough. Maybe I'm a better player then you, maybe you're better then I am. It ain't no competition and if we run out of stuff to do we can always get ourselves another beer. :D

Well said Arjen.

Maybe he just needs to get with the right people and the GN people are the right people.

Nils' Page - Guitar Information and other Stuff