OLGA offline

131 Posts
54 Users
0 Likes
225.4 K Views
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

Yes, I do.

And you think it's so different the original artist deserves nothing for it?

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

Posted : 14/08/2006 1:59 am
(@webcrush)

Yes, I do.

And you think it's so different the original artist deserves nothing for it?

Well, I've been a musician for 25+ years and I can say that playing a song I love is nowhere even close to as satisfying listening to the original recording.

Do they deserve something for it? Sure they do, like when I buy the CD or pay to see them perform it.

Posted : 14/08/2006 3:01 am
(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

Well, I've been a musician for 25+ years and I can say that playing a song I love is nowhere even close to as satisfying listening to the original recording.

That's really too bad. Many of us have enjoyed our own performances/arrangements of covers as much or more than the beloved originals. Part of the joy of music is making a known tune one's own ... and doing it quite well.

-=tension & release=-

Posted : 14/08/2006 4:09 am
(@tal919)

Please see my blog about it.

http://dmcadoesntownearorpen.blogspot.com/

Posted : 14/08/2006 5:52 am
(@misanthrope)
Noble Member

Please see my blog about it.

http://dmcadoesntownearorpen.blogspot.com/

It would be nice if it were true, but where's the proof? There's not even any citations to tranfser the burden of providing proof to someone else...

ChordsAndScales.co.uk - Guitar Chord/Scale Finder/Viewer

Posted : 14/08/2006 7:53 am
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

I read your blog, tal. It's totally mis-informed.

Besides making a blatantly false statement, claiming no cover bands pay royalties (in fact, almost all of them DO pay royalties, typically through the venue managment), you're making a huge error in understanding what "freedom of speech" really is.

Take a nice hard look at the first amendment: