Clear all

Rethinking my time here.

74 Posts
31 Users
0 Likes
11.9 K Views
(@urbancowgirl)
Reputable Member

I have to say that since I have been here I have seen several rather spirited discussions, so I don't really think GN is too conservative or pc. I would more likely call it expecting a certain maturity level from it's posters.

I didn't see the thread(s) in question but I am an administrator on another website and I know that rants and flaming don't help anyone. Constructive opinions on why you don't like a particular style or band is ok but if you feel like you have to tell someone that what they like sucks, then you really shouldn't be posting to begin with. Often it is not what someone is saying that is the problem but the way they are saying it.

All my life I wanted to be somebody. Now I see I should have been more specific.

Posted : 09/07/2007 8:20 pm
 pbee
(@pbee)
Noble Member

I disagree with this, Cnev. What I see on Hear Here is that relationships develop over time, where people feel increasingly "safe" in giving constructive criticism, based on how that criticism is received by the original poster. Most of those doing the critiquing on Hear Here (and the two songwriting forums, as well) respond with a sensitivity to how much criticism the poster can take without being unduly hurt or offended. If gentle criticism is well-received and appreciated, the critics can get a little more specific and raise the bar a little when subsequent clips are posted. If the poster takes offense at even the gentlest criticism, they surely shouldn't expect people to spend time crafting well-thought out, honest critiques in the future.

+1

Check out my Reverbnation page here

Posted : 09/07/2007 8:28 pm
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member