Time Line for a Rock Drummer

23 Posts
16 Users
0 Likes
 Bish
(@bish)
Famed Member
Topic starter

Ready for a read that might take you a day?

Sit back, grab your favorite consumables...and leave your troubles behind.

Back in 5th grade, I was finally able to understand the concept of bands and music and the entire world of rocknroll as it was back then. (Dinosaurs have left the earth by then.)

I'm gearing up for a summer of excitement. I'm getting my first guitar, a 1968 Yamaha semihollow body electric guitar.

I'm learning all the cool songs of that era and started my own band. I played guitar for about a year and then ran into another guitarist who had just moved to the area and he and I started trading riffs. Sadly, he was way better than I ever hoped to be and during that same time the drummer for my band quit coming to practice.

As a band we still wanted to move forward so I volunteered to take over the drum duties until a replacement was found. That never happened so within weeks I became the drummer for the band. Drumming came naturally and I was able to learn all the drum parts to our songlist in short order and we started gigging.

I have been in many locally successful bands over those last 30 years. We've gigged for as little as a handful of (loyal to the bar) patrons all the way to SRO shows backing headliners.

Along the way, I still tinkered with my guitar, if for no other reason, because it was there. I still played my handful of open chords and barre chords. Never really getting the full impact of guitar playing it was just a background hobby.