3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
 Ande
(@ande)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

Hi Guys,

This is sort of a personal advice question, so if you're not into that, close now. In addition to good guitarists, there are some good folks on this forum, and if you've got a minute, I'd appreciate your ideas.

A good friend of mine is selling a Gibson Les Paul Standard, seems like from the mid-to-late eighties.

I'm a novice, never figured on having (or spending the money on) a real gibby. But here's the thing- he's a pro, and would never sell that guitar. Except that his wife (who is a close friend of mine as well, and probably my lady's best friend) has cancer, and they need the dough.

I'm in a pint sized latin american country that isn't into rock. And is so economically in the toilet that a gibson lp is worth maybe 6-10 months salary to most people. There's very little chance that my friend is going to get what he needs out of this guitar. (He's asking $1200)

I could afford it, sort of, and am the only one in our circle of jammers who sort of could. But I can't afford it forever if you know what I mean. I could buy it, but sooner or later would have to sell it. I'd like to buy it, in the hope that he'll buy it back from me in a year or so. But if he doesn't (can't), I'd have to sell it eventually. I'm not a thousand dollar guitar kind of guy.

I'd have advantages for selling it, anyway, because I could take it to the US with me and sell it there. (I'm American, most of my circle of friends are local, and wouldn't get visas for the US.)

I can afford to take a loss on this. That's what friends are for. I'm not worried if I buy it for $1200, have it 6 months to a year, and sell it for $900-$1000. But If it turns out that it isn't worth close to 80% of what I pay, I'd be taking enough hit to make things harder on me and mine, which I shouldn't do.

So two questions- WHat's a 20 year old LP in very nice condition worth? (Where you are.)

What would you do if you were me?