Clear all

advice on amps PLEASE!

6 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@daza152)
Trusted Member
Topic starter  

Hi I bought a epiphone SG400, its very to nice (to look at ) but an amp will make it nice to play. I am looking at two amps at the moment to get for it, they are the Fender Frontman 25R and the Marshall mg30dfx. Can someone please help me out with which way to go? I've read reviews and they both said were good with the odd one not liking them at all. I am a beginner to the electric guitar and will be mainly or only using for home use and practice. but in saying that I want it to last for a very long time and maybe small gigs in the future?? I like, and want to play music like Led Zep, Pink Floyd, GnR, Jimi Hendrix and plenty of other "Classic Rock" music. If you know what I should get or have an epiphone SG and let me know what you use, keeping in mind what I'll be needing it for, it would be a life saver :-)

Thanks for your time

Daza :note2: :note1:

(@trguitar)
Famed Member

Well, they are both good practice amps. Try each one out at a music store if you can, preferably with an SG and see which one you like the sound of better. Personally, I used to have a little Marshall MG30 (not the DFX one) and it was a great little practice amp. I play classic rock and it worked well for my sound. That said, you really need to listen to both to decide. I think you may find the Fender brighter and the Marshall darker, as they try to emulate the sounds of their bigger more expensive cousins. Oh, I have an Epi G400 as well, nice guitar. :wink:

"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard,
grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em."
-- The Webb Wilder Credo --

ReplyQuote
(@rahul)
Famed Member

Oh, I have an Epi G400 as well, nice guitar. :wink:

Going by the size of your sizable fleet...you could say that again to most of the new guitars post !

ReplyQuote
(@wes-inman)
Illustrious Member