Clear all

Am I guitarist?

12 Posts
9 Users
0 Likes
(@grungesunset)
Honorable Member
Topic starter  

I apologize in advance if this sounds like a self absorbed rant but that's because it probably is.

Lately I've been wondering if I'll ever be a decent guitarist. I've been playing for about 9 years now and I use the term "playing" loosely. When I first started, I had just finished college and had no job. My goal was to be a lead guitarist in a band. Nothing big, we'd play bars and my bandmates would spend our pay for the gig at the bar.

Unfortunately, life has a way of getting in the way. 9 years later, I haven't practiced much and am still very much a beginner. I can't even change the CAGED chords fluidly.Partly, it's my fault. I definitely haven't been practicing nearly as much as I could have been. Other things get in the way too. Job(s), car accident and kid(s). Not that I don't have time but when I do have the time to practice, I don't feel like doing it. It's almost like I haven't met my goals and I don't care.

I'm still interested in music though. I find I enjoy singing a lot more though. It's a lot easier to practice. You can do it just about anywhere. I sing in the car, to my daughter and sometimes at work (I can weird looks when I do the latter). Instead of being a lead guitarist, I'd like to be a lead singer. Playing rhythm guitar in the band would be nice but it's not necessary.

I'm wondering if anyone else has ever had this issue. Lost their interest in the guitar and if they ever picked it up again.

I'm still interested in music though but my goals have changed.

"In what, twisted universe does mastering Eddie Van Halen's two handed arpeggio technique count as ABSOLUTELY NOTHING?!" - Dr Gregory House

Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member

We all evolve and goals can be redefined. I redefine my goals from time to time (I think the problem comes when you are redefining your goals continuously, every day).