Notifications
Clear all

Beginner Guitar

15 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@sandbox)
Topic starter  

If I'm just starting out, what electric guitar choices would you recommend? something that isn't too expensive

and also, what other accessories will I need?

I would like to start off with playing some punk/rock etc.

Thanks in advance

(@coloradofenderbender)
Noble Member

Boy, there are lots of answers!

You basically need: an electric guitar, some picks, a guitar cable, and an amp. Maybe a guitar strap.

LOTS of choices at reasonable prices nowadays. How much $$$ do you want to spend? Name a few guitarists you admire - that way we can make better suggestions. Squier Starter packs are pretty good and reasonably priced. But, there are several companies that make starter packs. Also, you might do better buying the equipment, piece by piece, but you will spend a little more.

I doubt anyone will argue with you if you choose a Squier guitar and an Epiphone Valve Junior combo amp. The whole deal will probably cost about $300 - $350, but it will sound good and last for quite awhile.

ReplyQuote
(@sandbox)
Topic starter  

yeah, I was thinking about the Squier Strat

I might just go for the starter packs. But I've heard the amp is the most important when starting out. I've been looking online at sites like Musician Friend and these are just some of the amps that they come with the starter packs: G-DEC Junior Amp/Fender Frontman 15G amp/SP-10 Combo Amp/Bullet 150 DSP Guitar Amplifier. Any of these amps good?

some guitarists: Billie Joe Armstrong/Brett Gurewitz/Fletcher Dragge/Kevin 'Noodles' Wasserman/Aaron "El Hefe" Abeyta/Erik Ohlsson

ReplyQuote
(@coloradofenderbender)
Noble Member

The g-dec amp is a very good beginner amp. My son has one. Not sure about the "junior" version though.

ReplyQuote
(@lion2)
Trusted Member

yeah, I was thinking about the Squier Strat