Clear all

Buying a beginners' guitar

19 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@mk1974)
Topic starter  

Hi there,

I started learning guitar a month or so ago while on extended holiday, on a steel string acoustic. I had learnt a few chords and could play (slowly) Blowin' in the Wind and the intro to a KT Tunstall song. I was dead pleased with even this small step!

I got home and my father gave me a very old nylon string acoustic, and I found it very difficult to play. Every time I would tune it, I would only get a bit of play before it sounded awful, and the sound just wasn't half as good as the previous guitar. It has really set me back as I am almost scared to pick this one up for it sounding awful and my wife smashing me over the head with it!

I have decided that I want to return to a steel string, and am going to buy a new one. I wonder if any guitar players on the forum would be able to suggest a decent beginners' guitar for £200 or less that I might look at.

I am planning on teaching myself for a bit longer before getting a teacher for an hour a week...

Best,

MK.

(@joehempel)
Famed Member

Yamaha makes great beginners acoustic guitars. I just bought a "beater" Yamaha FG-1 Junior Travel guitar, and I'd put it up against any of the Martin travel guitars any day, and it was more than half the price.

You can get a great beginners pack for like $150-$200 that has gig bag, instructional stuff, picks, etc.

In Space, no one can hear me sing!

ReplyQuote
(@mk1974)
Topic starter  

Thanks Joe. In UK sterling that's about £91-£122, so should be within my price range – however, I believe guitars are more pricey in England. Is a travel guitar smaller than a conventional one?

ReplyQuote
(@lue42)
Reputable Member