Notifications
Clear all

Buying a used acoustic

6 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@hws21c)
Topic starter  

I'm a drummer, but since i'm moving into a university residence, I decided to try acoustic which would be a suitable choice of instrument for residence.
(its a tiny room and even electric drum set wouldn't fit in it... even though I'd never play an electric drum)
I'm looking to spend about 200~250... I live in Canada by the way, I think that might narrow down the selection but I'm not worried about the exchange rate since it's been really good for people above the border.
I'm looking for a guitar that I can use as a beginner and wouldn't annoy me when I can play at about intermediate level
(annoy me as in, if I was still using a cheap guitar even after I got a lot better, I would feel pretty unpleasant, right?)
I'm looking for a used because I have no problem with second hand instruments and I think I could get better quality guitar with my money this way.
I'm not sure if I should buy an acoustic or electric-acoustic. To be honest, I don't know what electric acoustic really is.
Is it acoustic guitars with pickup installed? It would be convenient, but if adding pickup into calculation drops the quality of guitar I can afford by a lot, I think I'll stick with just acoustic. I'm not looking to form a band or anything, just casual playing in my room and perhaps if I get better, playing in church or during camp fire etc.
I think I should throw in a good case in calculation as well... I'm not sure if used cases can be trusted or not. If guitar comes with a case, great. If not, how much do they usually cost (new ones)?
So, can you awesome guitarists give me some tips?
Thanks for reading this, by the way.

(@boxboy)
Noble Member

Hey, hws21c,
I'm really big on used acoustics. Find a good seller who's played and maintained the guitar and you're way ahead.