Clear all

Christmas List

36 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@hanging-chord)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I always struggle to come up with a Christmas list for my family (especially the in-laws). Since I just started playing guitar a few months ago, and don't have much in the way of accessories yet (a 2w practice amp, a capo, strap lock, gig bag, tuner, music stand, and guitar stand, along with a few books, picks, and spare strings), I thought that might be a nice source for filling the list. Problem is, I don't know enough about the subject to know what's worth putting on the list, especially stuff like effects/pedals/etc. :? So I thought I'd mosey over here to get some ideas from the experts.

A bit of relevant background. Generally, I like rock music of all kinds, especially the 70s/80s AOR/melodic rock-metal area. I like guitarists ranging from Steve Howe to Richie Sambora (99 in the Shade is my fave guitar rock song of all time). I like clean tones as well as moderate distortion, but not a big fan of really fuzzy/muddy tones that bleed together. I don't see myself performing in a band or in front of many people for quite awhile yet; I play mostly for my own satisfaction right now. I composed some fairly simple music some years ago from a keyboard standpoint, and I'm finding myself becoming interested in composing from a guitar perspective (so guitar composition software is definitely on the board). I lean towards the lead (melody, solos) over the rhythm, though I'm working on both.

Probably I need to keep the items <$150. Any and all suggestions welcome (as well as what to avoid -- poorly-made or less-than-advertised items, for example).

Yeah, it's early, but you don't know my family... :oops:

(@big-lar)
Estimable Member

You haven't mentioned any recording gear. I'd recommend this:

Line6 TonePort UX1