Clear all

Dispelling a Myth

67 Posts
32 Users
0 Likes
10.6 K Views
(@hbriem)
Honorable Member

Quite frankly, I can't really think of a more boring subject offhand, nor one that has been thrashed out at great length more often. Nor one less productive. Jeez, I'm falling asleep just typing this........

--
Helgi Briem
hbriem AT gmail DOT com

ReplyQuote
(@margaret)
Noble Member

Everyone has his or her own tastes and the cool thing is that they often change during the course of one's lifetime. Use a discussion like this to promote something and help people learn
Hear, hear!! Thank you, David.

Since the names Satriani, Vai, Malmsteen, Huff, Moore and others have come up, maybe I can slip out of the closet and ask some legitimate questions. I honestly had never heard of most of these people until I started learning guitar and reading guitar magazines, websites, etc. Since they are so often named as great guitarists, I am curious and want to expand my knowledge of their music.

"Always With Me, Always With You" was mentioned as a good one to listen to by ? (I lost track of whose it was).

Can someone name just a couple specific tunes we can listen to, that are representative of the best work by these guitarists? Some of us obviously need edjacatin'.

Thx!

Margaret

When my mind is free, you know a melody can move me
And when I'm feelin' blue, the guitar's comin' through to soothe me ~

ReplyQuote
(@the-dali)
Noble Member

Most of these guys were big in the 80's, although Stevie Vai is still considered relatively current.

I consider myself sometwhat of a metalhead, but I've never heard of Huff. The others are all great guitars players, with different styles.