Clear all

Drum machines

15 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@fleaaaaaa)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

Does anyone know any good drum machines I could use?

I'm trying to write my own songs and have been messing about with them for a while but I need a beat behind it all really and I don't want it to sound too corny.

If anyone knows any software - preferably free, but say even if it isn't or a good physical drum machine I could eventually save up for would be apprecaited. What does anyone else use if they don't drum?

Thanks!

together we stand, divided we fall..........

Bish
(@bish)
Famed Member

Well, I'm a drummer but find it very hard to play drums and guitar at the same time.

I have a GNX3000 and it has many drum rhythms built in. That's one way I put backing drums behind my guitar work.

Bish

"I play live as playing dead is harder than it sounds!"

ReplyQuote
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member

I have a Zoom RT-223. It sounds good to me. I use it just for playing and practicing bass, so I play a rhythm and play over it. It has more than 400 patterns and all of them are very usable. Usually I practice with blues, shuffle and rock patterns but it also has some good patterns for jazz (there is a set called 'brush' that are cool for playing jazz bass lines).

It is very easy create songs. It has a mode in which you can select several patterns for each song part (intro, verse, bridge, etc.) by hand and it also can be 'programmed' easily by introducing number in a formulae-like way. For example, if you wish the pattern #30 twice and the #80 four times you should write something like 2*30+4*80. It is an advantage against another systems and drum machines. It also can generate the bass line. I have disabled this feature permanently but if you want to use it for composing songs it could be interesting.