Notifications
Clear all

Epi

14 Posts
12 Users
0 Likes
(@twin-city-aggie)
Topic starter  

Is anyone familiar with the Epiphone brand? I am new to the guitar and I saw one at the guitar center that I'm interested in. This particular one costs about $350. Is this worth it? :?

Twin City Aggie newbie

(@Anonymous)

Is anyone familiar with the Epiphone brand? I am new to the guitar and I saw one at the guitar center that I'm interested in. This particular one costs about $350. Is this worth it? :?
Epiphone guitars are to Gibson guitars what Toyota autos are to the Lexus brand, or maybe closer to what a Ford is to a Lincoln

ReplyQuote
 lars
(@lars)
Noble Member

... or squire to fender.

My experience with epiphones is good. Have just bought a Epi Dot. Which model are you looking at?

...only thing I know how to do is to keep on keepin' on...

LARS kolberg http://www.facebook.com/sangerersomfolk

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)

I have an Epiphone G400 (SG model) and I love it. The stock pickups aren't very good though so I suggest you buy better pickups and replace the stock ones. Sure beats buying a Gibson that's 2 or 3 times more expensive.

ReplyQuote
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member

I have a Epiphone Les Paul Standard. I was playing a lot of guitars (several brands) in the stores and finally I decided on the Les Paul. Generally they are good guitars.

ReplyQuote
(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

John Lennon was a BIG fan of Epiphones - McCartney has an Epi or two named after him....what better reccomendation do you need?

Ever seen the Beatles playing on the roof of the Apple building in the film "Let It Be?" That beautiful semi hollow John was using is an Epi......

Lovely guitars, but always - whatever you're thinking about splashing your hard-earned cash on - try before you buy.....

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@trguitar)
Famed Member