Clear all

GAS for Guitar Players Only?

58 Posts
21 Users
0 Likes
(@hyperborea)
Prominent Member
Topic starter  

Why do a lot of guitar players have GAS (Gear Acquisition Syndrome) compared to other musicians? Not saying that all guitar players do and all other musicians don't but on average it seems that way.

Is it some difference between the training? Many guitar players are self taught so maybe without a teacher to guide them to practicing more they look for the guitar/amp/cable/pedal/case that will make them better?

Is it that there are more components involved in making the sounds - guitar, strings, picks, cables, pedals, amps, etc. - than compared to say an oboe?

Is it that guitars are relatively inexpensive compared to say violas?

Is it the variety of guitars available? There are only so many steps in violin quality or variety before you go over most people's budget or run out of options.

Something else?

Pop music is about stealing pocket money from children. - Ian Anderson

(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

there are a wide assortment of guitar types and stringed electrical instruments have a larger variety of accessories and variations of accessories to chose from IMO.

#4491....

ReplyQuote
(@chris-c)
Famed Member

Many guitar players are self taught so maybe without a teacher to guide them to practicing more they look for the guitar/amp/cable/pedal/case that will make them better?

Something else?

All of your reasons apply to me. :)

I definitely hoped that the next buy would make me sound better, or at the very least keep me motivated to practise. Both hopes were re-enforced enough (albeit usually in very small ways) to give me an excuse to keep doing it. Buying stuff is nearly always fun, and dreaming up reasons usually not too hard. Shallow perhaps, but true.