Clear all

Giving up smoking - again.....

167 Posts
44 Users
0 Likes
27.4 K Views
(@margaret)
Noble Member

Good luck Vic. Hope it works out. All of those grand-children you have, plus the other two coming should be some good inspiration to quit.

Paul
Vic, as I mentioned on another thread, my dad died of lung cancer at age 54 thanks to cigarettes. I was 21, still in college. He wasn't there when I graduated or when I got married or when my children were born, but the worst of all is that my kids got robbed of ever getting to know the great man who was their grandpa. He died 25 years ago on Dec 16, 2006, and I still miss him.

Quit and stay motivated for your loved ones, the ones who love and need you.

Margaret

When my mind is free, you know a melody can move me
And when I'm feelin' blue, the guitar's comin' through to soothe me ~

ReplyQuote
(@coloradofenderbender)
Noble Member

Thankfully, I never got hooked on them. From what I see, it is harder to quit than herion! Good luck - your lungs will thank you!

ReplyQuote
(@racetruck1)
Honorable Member

Good luck, Vic!

Wish me luck too, I had my last cigarette at 11:50 PM Dec 31.

30 years of about three packs a day, I've slowed down to a pack and a half.

Wife is going to put the screws to me, she's never smoked.

I'm going to try to put the money from my habit into a box and see how much I can save in three months and maybe donate it to charity.

When I die, I want to go peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather, not screaming......
like the passengers in his car.

ReplyQuote
(@teleplayer324)
Noble Member

Hey I forgot to send a check.

Vic and Tele, how many consecutive days did you make it last year from January 1? I need to cut a check to the American Cancer Society.

Vic, I'll do it again this year, a dollar a day. One change to the rules for this year, I'll only cut the check if you make it all the way through. Charity of your choice.