Notifications
Clear all

Guitar advice needed

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@shadowman)
Topic starter  

Hello, i'm new to the forum. I'm a beginner and i'm just learning chords and riffs at the moment. I have an Ibanez GRG270B.

I'm looking at buying a guitar which is more suited to rock as mine is more a metal guitar. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

I'm willing to spend about £100-£150 on one. Thank you for your time.

(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

@12.jpg">@12.jpg">

Welcome to the forum. I hope that some of the UK people can steer you better, with their intricate knowledge of what is available there, across the pond. It's another world in terms of music products and selection to me. THEY know gear. :lol:

So, there's your guitar, unless yours is coloured purple, and sure it's a shredder's instrument, but I don't see why it can't be used for rock. Still, it's a good question, and I immediately think of SG, one of the Epiphones, or an Agile or Ibanez Les Paul design and also some of the better quality SquierTele's which are not entry level, but copies of USA classics. 8)

I think you'll need to spend a little more, see Peavey, and Squier Tele's http://www.guitarbitz.com/electric_guitars.htm

Tokai's and Tanglewood are exceptional, and will serve you well. This catches me! http://www.guitarbitz.com/1212.htm

Like a bird on the wire,
like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free.

ReplyQuote
(@blue-jay)
Noble Member

WOW, I looked further down in that top link, with the full page of electric guitars. While Tokai and Tanglewood will hold their value (I have one of each), and have excellent fit & finish, and Squiers are always sought after (I have a few of them), I'm amazed by the Vintage Guitars Company offerings from 169 - 199 pounds shipped. They are the VS6 SG @ 169, and awesome, beautiful vintage Tele replicas V52 or V62 and a Les Paul clone at 199. There's my recommendations.

Like a bird on the wire,

ReplyQuote
(@blue-jay)