Clear all

Guitar for a 9 year old

8 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@jwmartin)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

My 9 year old son is wanting an electric. He has a nylon string acoustic, but the neck is too thick for him to really play. I was thinking about getting him the Squier Mini-Strat, but realized that the "mini" is in the length, the neck is still the same thickness as a full size. He can reach the 1st fret on my Epi LP, so length isn't really an issue. I compared the neck thickness on my Epi to my older son's Strat and the Epi seems thinner (I just eyeballed it). But the Strat's body is thinner which will be easier on him. The problem is, I can't let him play big brother's strat, because it's a Christmas gift as well. I've narrowed it down to 4 choices...

1. Mini-Strat
2. Full size Strat
3. Full size Epi Special
4. Epi LP Jr. which is full scale, but the body is smaller

I'm new to playing and buying guitars, so I just don't trust myself to make a decision. Anyone have similiar experience or insight?

Thanks,

jeff

Bass player for Undercover

lars
(@lars)
Noble Member

To bad you haven't had a reply yet

Actually I have been thinking along the same lines myself. My daughter is 9 and has just begun some playing. She has her own 3/4(?) size accoustic but prefers my telecaster due to a much smaller neck. The overall length is not *really* a problem it seems.

Agree also that a Les Paul neck is even a tad thinner than the fender neck - (qualified guess from me too!) don't think it makes much of a difference tho'

If I was made from money I think I would've gotten her a 'hello kitty' fender - being as I am from muscle and blood, she will probably have to use her own or mine.

not much of a help, but good luck!

lars

...only thing I know how to do is to keep on keepin' on...

LARS kolberg http://www.facebook.com/sangerersomfolk

ReplyQuote
(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member