Notifications
Clear all

Guitar for a newbie?

17 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@dameros)
Topic starter  

Hi guys :D. I'm new to the forums but I've been checking out the site out regularly. I'm gonna start playing guitar soon and I don't know which guitar to buy. I want to start off with an acoustic or acoustic/electric. My budget is around $300-$400 NZ dollars which is about $150-$200 US, maybe a bit more.

I've been thinking about these guitars:

(Acoustic/Electric)

Ashton Dualler Acoustic/ Electric
Ashton DM55SCEQ
Ashton D25CEQ

(Acoustic)

Ibanez AW10NT
Yamaha F310

If you guys have any suggestions that would be awesome. Cheers :D.

(@chuckster)
Prominent Member

Firstly, welcome to GN.

I can't comment on any of the guitars you mentioned as I have no experience of them. What I will say though is visit your local music store(s) and talk to them. Tell them what you have in mind and try them out if you can. Let them suggest different guitars to you - things that you wouldn't necessarily have thought of - and try those. Something will leap out at you and it may not necessarily be what you first had in mind. Remember its not just about how a guitar looks but how comfortable you are with it and how playable it is for you.

When I bought my guitar I went into the shop with the sole intention of walking out with a specific model. After talking to the salesman he talked me into trying out a number of different guitars in my price range and I realised that the guitar I went in for did not feel right for me. I walked out with something I would never have thought of trying and I don't regret the decision. IMO I got a guitar which is more suited to me and than the one I had been lusting after. It just felt right straight away.

HTH

8)

I've had a lot of sobering thoughts in my time.
It was them that turned me to drink.

ReplyQuote
(@misanthrope)
Noble Member

Welcome!