Notifications
Clear all

Guitar Purchasing Help

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@tclout)
Topic starter  

Hi, ive been playing consistently for about three years, but have gotten pretty serious over the last year. Im looking to buy a new guitar when i graduate next year, that will hopefully take me through a good portion of my life. i came here to get some advice on where to go and what to choose :wink:

Im looking for something that will sound well with finger style music (acoustic). I have no preference on body style or wood, just that they contribute to a warm folky sound. Maybe something with some character, both with sound, and appearance. I like the idea of internal tuning machines, or whatever you'd call them. My current guitar is all laminate. Im looking for something with at least a solid wood top. preferably from an american company. Again, even though im not exactly an advance player now, id like to consider myself up and coming, so i want something that i will be happy with as i progress. With a price range of around five hundred what would you recommend?

I know very little about this. I dont know how realistic the things i said above are, but im only just starting my research, and would love some opinions

(@steves6)
Trusted Member

Go to every guitar store You can get to, Sitdown with every guitar they have inYour price range...

You will know when You have found "Your" Guitar!

ReplyQuote
(@tclout)
Topic starter  

Ha, sounds like a plan. I'll do that 8) . Thanks for the sugestion

ReplyQuote
 Nuno
(@nuno)
Famed Member

We would need your budget for more accurate recommendations. Try Seagull, a Canadian brand, they make very nice guitars. They are part of Godin, so brands like LaPatrie, Art&Lutherie, etc. could be good guitars for you (I'm not sure but only Godin and Seagull make solid guitars, review the catalogue or ask to the salesmen).