Clear all

Guitar recommendation

12 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@colonel)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

First off, let me say "Thank you" for all the information that I've gotten from this site. It seems to almost unlimited.
Now for the question - I've been using my son's ESP M-50 since I started my guitar journey 5 months ago. He's now decided he wants it back (seems the old man"s interest has resurrected his own). So now I need to find a good beginner's guitar. I've found a local Sam Ash with a few Sqyuier 51's and I've also looked at a few Epi Les Paul's. I'm hoping to keep it under $150.00 Since I'm still a noob I would rather invest my money in more lessons.
Any recommendations regarding the Squier versus the EPI?

Leadership is based on inspiration, not domination; on cooperation, not intimidation.

-- William Arthur Wood

(@alangreen)

Lots of players started out with Squier kit, and an Epi will last you as long as you're still alive and playing. Either of them will serve you well.

Best,

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk
Wedding music and guitar lessons in Essex. Listen at: http://www.rollmopmusic.co.uk

ReplyQuote
(@jwmartin)
Noble Member

Well, I have both and Epi LP and a Squier '51. The Epi was my first electric cause I've always dug the Gibson tone over the Strat tone. One thing I learned: buying guitars leads to buying more guitars. So many people on here were gushing over the Squire '51 that I started checking them out and my local GC had 1 left, in the exact color I wanted, which I saw as a sign that couldn't be ignored. This was back in December when they were discontinued and they were just selling the remaining stock. They must have had a boatload of 'em because I noticed in the Sam Ash circular the other day they are still selling them for the same price. Well, on to your question...