Guitar selection question

23 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@titus)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

If this is the wrong forum I apologizes. :shock:

I've been playing casually for a few years on an inexpensive Fender Squire and have always struggled to hit some chords and notes cleanly, I assumed it was lack of practice. Sitting at Guitar Center in the acoustic cave the other day though I noticed that even a slight step up in price yielded a much nicer to play guitar. The string buzz went away on certain chords, and an F which has been nearly impossible for me to play cleanly on my Squire was a piece of cake... so I'm really starting to appreciate the value of a nicer machine already!

Can anyone give me some basic criteria to look for if I decide to get a new 6 string? I am still torn between acoustic and electric. I play drums mostly to metal, and all hard-rock based genres, but love to play acoustic and could see learning more country songs on guitar if I had a better one.

Even then, an acoustic electric, or just acoustic if I go that route? I think my budget will be in the $600-750 range tops. And I'm not at all opposed to used. I got my Squire at a pawn shop and my drums are 13yrs young :lol:

(@apache)
Reputable Member

Probably the best thing you can do is play a few and see what you like...

I prefer electric as a metal fan, but it really depends what you want to do, and at least you can play an acoustic anywhere :-)

ReplyQuote
(@titus)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

yeah my wife sings country pretty much exclusively so I was thinking I could play for her. I didn't mean to pigeon hole acoustic into a country genre though if I did. I know a lot of my fav metal bands have acoustic numbers as well.

I'll keep playing. I just wondered if there was anything in particular I should look for. I may just wait till end of month, see how much cash I have burning in my pocket and play with everything at guitar center in that price range, lol.

ReplyQuote
 Bish
(@bish)