Clear all

handedness (left or right)

38 Posts
24 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I am sure various questions about this have been covered, but as a lefty, i always wonder how right handed people cope.
let me explain, i play guitar (not that my friends would say i could call it that), the Right handed way.

for me, all of the work and the fine motor skills are demanded by the fretting hand, so as a left hander, i prefer to have my left hand on the neck of the guitar.

how do right handers feel about having their "weaker" hand doing all of the work when they play.

i am sure there must be at least one brain surgeon on this site - any answers as to why we play gutiar with "weak" hand forward??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@joehempel)
Famed Member

A friend of mine used to play the guitar and he played lefty style. He had to get rid of the guitar for one reason or another. Well his parents bought him a guitar for Christmas, but it was a right handed style guitar, so he's learning to play upside down....which is strange to me, I figured it would be easier to have a luthier re-setup it up for him.

Either way, now he can't play any other way than upside down!

In Space, no one can hear me sing!

ReplyQuote
(@ness-k)
Estimable Member

Well im left handed and I play right handed and it works well for me.

"The Beauty of Music is my Sanity. Without it, I would simply lose my gravity, and blow away with the breeze." - Ness K(Aka Matt Harris)

ReplyQuote
(@hyperborea)
Prominent Member

I'm a lefty who plays "right handed". My fretting hand is my strong hand and the one over which I have the most control. My picking hand is my weak hand. Some things are easier because of this and some harder. I definitely find that my strumming and picking needed / still need more work and emphasis than my fretting.