Skip to content
Have you ever been ...

Notifications
Clear all

Have you ever been openly insulted about your playing?

36 Posts
26 Users
0 Likes
(@cd-60-blk)
Eminent Member

Not yet but if I cared about what other people thought I wouldn't have even bought the guitar. I'm probably the biggest beginner here so I know I suck. I don't know if he was trying to be funny or if he's just ignorant, either way its not really any of his concern and you shouldn't be bothered buy it. Keep on keepin on man, Cheers'

Where do you get your energies? Well its a vicious circle thing, If I hadn't ever played an instrument then I wouldn't ever need to play one. But now that I've been playing, I need to play. - Eric Clapton 1967 RollingStone interview

ReplyQuote
(@joehempel)
Famed Member

Other than my wife or YouTube no, I haven't....yet.

My wife will say something like....you play the guitar okay, but you can't sing to save your life (which I think I play a bit better than okay at this point, still wouldn't call it great) But at the same time we worked in world with big ego's and superstar attitudes, so we're not into catering to ego's and keep it straight.

Youtube....well....it's youtube.

In Space, no one can hear me sing!

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member

Minotaur, try "Does saying that give you a feeling of adequacy, then?"

When I started guitar, the first time around, my mother made some sort of half-joking, non-complimentary remark and walked out of the room. As she went, I kicked the door to - not hard but hard enough.

Sadly, my mother decided that she had something to add to her previous remark - and turned to come back in the room. It was at that point that door and maternal nose met...........................much bleeding and apologising later, it became clear that I'd broken it.

It was something that I was never allowed to forget.....................

I started with nothing - and I've still got most of it left.