Skip to content
Have you ever been ...

Notifications
Clear all

Have you ever been openly insulted about your playing?

36 Posts
26 Users
0 Likes
 Ande
(@ande)
Prominent Member

Funny thing- it's the NON-musicians who the comments are coming from in a lot of these stories.

I'm a teacher. (Not music. Not anything even vaguely musical.) Just happens, due to karma, coincidence, or whatever, that two of my best friends are professional musicians, who make a living at this.

When we get together, we jam. We all know that I'm the worst of the lot. I should be- I spend hours every day doing something else for a living. SOmetimes these two don't leave the practice room for days on end. Comparatively speaking, I am not good.

But everybody knows we're playing for fun- and nobody has ever been anything but supportive about it. When I really blow a solo, and I do that often, in the next break, one of the others usually has something they want to show me. One of those guys got me a metronome for my birthday, too. (Great present, but the hint was clear. I do have a hard time keeping the rhythm together sometimes.)

There are plenty of musicians who aren't like this. But the ones who ARE are the best. The ones who know that music is about bringing people together and making music, not about looking cool and showing off.

I think non-musicians insult us amateurs because they're jealous. I may play badly. But I have the courage to turn it up and do it loud, in public if I get the chance. And enjoy it.

They're jealous.

Best,
Ande

ReplyQuote
 cnev
(@cnev)
Famed Member

AndeAnde,

+1,000,000 - you got it they are jealous

But I'd have to say not all musicians are like that, I think they are that way to you because you are friends. But I don't find musicians to be any more friendly/helpful than any other group of people that I know.

"It's all about stickin it to the man!"
It's a long way to the top if you want to rock n roll!

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Famed Member