Clear all

headphone amp

13 Posts
8 Users
0 Likes
(@blacknbluedog)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

i am thinking of getting an electric guitar so I can play/practice without disturbing anyone. Is a headphone amp a good idea? I see the Vox model sells for around $40.00. Any suggestions as to which brands are good. I am a beginner so am not real savvy about what things work well.
Thanks
Brian

(@vic-lewis-vl)
Illustrious Member

Do you mean headphones with a built-in amp, or putting headphones into an amplifier? Either way, watch the volume - I know, I know, rock'n'roll's SUPPOSED to be played loud, but Pete Townshend blames his hearing loss not on the huge amps the Who on stage, but rather on loud studio headphones.

:D :D :D

Vic

"Sometimes the beauty of music can help us all find strength to deal with all the curves life can throw us." (D. Hodge.)

ReplyQuote
(@blacknbluedog)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I am referring to a product like the Vox amPlug. Its a battery powered unit that plugs directly into the guitar. It looks pretty small probably no larger than 3 inches in any dimension. The headphones are plugged into or attached to that unit.
Thanks
Brian

ReplyQuote
(@rparker)
Illustrious Member

I've never tried one of those things. Something still under $100 I have tried do own is one of these V-Amps. http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Behringer-VAMP-2-Amp-Modeler?sku=480674 . So why spend the extra $60? Simply put, you get to play with tons of goodies and still be able to run through your headphone. Great for travel too. Lot more bang for the buck.

Roy
"I wonder if a composer ever intentionally composed a piece that was physically impossible to play and stuck it away to be found years later after his death, knowing it would forever drive perfectionist musicians crazy." - George Carlin

ReplyQuote
(@greybeard)
Illustrious Member