Clear all

Help from Keyboard players on the board

15 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@joehempel)
Famed Member
Topic starter  

I finally broke down and bought a method book a couple weeks ago and have been going through it this week.

I'm having a severe problem in my right hand, in which it is in so much pain that I have to stop playing after about 15-20 minutes for quite a while because I really can't move it that well. I'm wondering if this has to do with Hand Strength or technique or maybe I'm just doing something completely wrong.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_77mepcpseY

Is the video, I'm playing When the Saints Go Marching In from Alfreds Adult Piano All-In-One Course Level 1.

If anyone is able to help me out that would be great!

In Space, no one can hear me sing!

(@sirtk)

I'm no expert but my first thought was that you are too low and sitting too close to the keyboard.
You could get a proper stand and a bench for not much money that will both be the correct height. My bench is 7 1/2 inches below the top of the keys.

Terry

ReplyQuote
(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

agreed. a folding chair and card table may be ok for a moment, but it is not proper. you are hunched and your elbows are
bent and held to your gut. not good posture.
mess around. try and open up.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member

+1 on being too low. Your forearms are going up to reach the keys, so your wrists are having to curve downward. On top of that, you're turning your right hand outward - trying to attack the keys with your hand pointing straight ahead at the piano... keep your wrists straight. Bending the wrist for any significant amount of time will cause pain, and it doesn't matter that it's a piano - keeping your fretting wrist bent will do the same thing on guitar.