Notifications
Clear all

Help with my first purchase

12 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@pane-in-the-glass)
Topic starter  

Greetings, all! I'm a brand new guitarist (I've literally been playing for a week) looking to make my first buy. The original plan was to play my sister's guitar (a Yamaha CG100A) for a month or so, build up some callouses and muscle, (make sure I'm gonna stick with it,) and then go out and find a nice, used, cheap guitar that I liked. Well, that plan pretty much died the second I saw this beauty. However, as I am a new guitarist, I wanted to seek some opinions and advice before making the purchase.

The first problem is finding the darned thing! According to Musicians Friend, that is a transparent blue Ibanez AFS75T. However, when I search for that guitar elsewhere, this guy keeps popping up, even at the Ibanez official website! The next closest thing I can find is the AF75D, but again, there's a discrepency between the official Ibanez version and the Musicians Friend version. So I'm kind of stuck. I really like the one I mentioned in the first paragraph, and I like it much better than all the others I've linked, but I have no idea what it's called, or where I can get it.

The second problem I have, presuming I can resolve the first, is paying the right price for it. Most of the advice I've found on buying guitars suggests that: 1) You buy it from the store, not from the internet, and 2) Never pay the listed price. Both these points make sense to me, and I'd like to abide by them, but I've never haggled before and I'm not very confident I can pull it off. Still, it'd be nice to know what a "decent", "good", and "great" price for this guitar would be, just so I have a rough idea of what I should be looking to spend.