Clear all

How to learn Harmonica

18 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@roundi)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

I just bought a harmonica. I have no experience with one but I would like to play some Neil Young, Bob Dylan type stuff to start. I have not found any great websites for lessons yet. Does anyone recommend any web sites. There is some stuff on YouTube I have started to watch but I guess I am looking for a good website or book etc to get me off on the right foot.

I actually bought two harmonicas one in C and one in G. Both are Hohner, a Blues Harp MS (G) and a Pro Harp MS (C) which is a cool black color.

I like the Blues Harp better so far but it tastes funny.

Any advice on where and how to get lessons or advice on playing these things would be greatly appreciated.

Dave H. Could you write An Idiots Guide to the Harmonica now that you are done with the guitar book.

(@davidhodge)

Congrats on the harmonica and I hope you enjoy it.

There's actually already a CIG for Harmonica ( http://www.amazon.com/Complete-Idiots-Guide-Playing-Harmonica/dp/1592574653/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1311175923&sr=8-1 ) - I have to tell you I've not read it so I give you a review.

You might also want to check out David Gage's Harmonica page ( http://www.harmonicalessons.com/ ). It's not free, but I've had a lot of people tell me that it's pretty good and he's also got a page especially devoted to "harmonica for guitar players!"

Hope this helps. Looking forward to hearing some clips of you playing at some point.

Peace

ReplyQuote
(@roundi)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Thanks for the info. I am going to check out the music store for a book ASAP. I will look at the David Gage site as well. I like the harmonica for guitar players idea a lot.

Tale Care

ReplyQuote
(@1armbandit)
Estimable Member