Skip to content
I'm buying a new gu...

Notifications
Clear all

I'm buying a new guitar and I need help!

(@lightbulbs)
Topic starter  

Hi guys. I know there are probably many of these topics, but, I am planning on buying a new guitar, and I think I need help. I have narrowed my choices down alot, but I am stuck on where to go next. I have decided on either, a Fender MIM Stratocaster, a MIM Telecaster, an Epiphone Dot, or I can probably get a really good deal on a Fender Jaguar. I have also considered the Squier Classic Vibe series, as I have heard good things about those guitars. I was leaning towards the Jag for a while, but some stuff I read on the internet about bridge problems kind of concerned me, so if you guy could help me out on that also, that would be great. I have been playing guitar for about 4 years now, and I like to play classic rock, rock, soft rock, blues, and jazzy kinds of stuff, but I would also like to be able to get some really heavy distorted tones. So a versatile guitar is very important to me. Also I am not limited to the guitars I mentioned previously, so any others you would like to recommend in that price range of 300-500 USD would be appreciated. Thanks Very Much!

(@rahul)
Famed Member

Fender Std. Strat all the way, imo.

ReplyQuote
(@scrybe)
Noble Member

I'd go with the MIM Tele out of those. Neck pup with the tone rolled off gives you jazz. Bridge pup gives you country, or rock if used with overdrive/distortion. Also popularly used in blues (pup and tone settings can vary) - Muddy Waters, Albert Collins, Jonny Lang, etc, etc.

My second choice would be the Strat.

Ra Er Ga.

Ninjazz have SuperChops.

http://www.blipfoto.com/Scrybe

ReplyQuote
(@alangreen)
Member Moderator

You cannot go wrong with a Tele

A :-)

"Be good at what you can do" - Fingerbanger"
I have always felt that it is better to do what is beautiful than what is 'right'" - Eliot Fisk