Clear all

Impact on music 1990-present

39 Posts
19 Users
0 Likes
(@blutic1)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

I've read so many book, articles, forums, etc. about the history of music (especially rock / pop / metal) and how people like Elivs, Hendrix, Holly, and bands like Zep, Beatles, Ratt etc. changed the couse of music history. Joking about Ratt of course so get back in your chairs and shake it off. :lol: But there is not that much out there (that I could find) about music after about 1990. I graduated from highschool in 1990, was into the 80s metal and pretty much stopped listening to new music about the time grunge came out. I was furious with Grunge - I was a happy child. Not that much agnst - and I did not want to kill my parents so it did not really appeal to me. I still have not and will not buy Nevermind. I also got into Jimmy Buffett in early 1991 and have listened to him and talk radio since then. So I'm an old guy (33) that's out of touch. What bands / people have really changed music since 1990 and how so? Who would you call modern day Beatles or Hendrix? Who came up with the idea to tune waaaaaaaaay down and play with a KFC bucket on your head? Where have all the solos gone? - sung to the tune of Where have all the cowboys gone...." :lol:

(@ginger)
Reputable Member

I've listened to grunge and I have most of Nirvana's stuff including nevermind and i don't recall anything about killing parents. And i don't get those feelings either so i don't know where you came up with that one.

ReplyQuote
 geoo
(@geoo)
Famed Member

I've listened to grunge and I have most of Nirvana's stuff including nevermind and i don't recall anything about killing parents. And i don't get those feelings either so i don't know where you came up with that one.

I agree. I mean I graduated in 87 and grew up with metal but when grunge came along I adopted it and I dont remember those feelings either.