Clear all

just how good do you need to be??

12 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I make a living teaching - and i make my "pocket money" (after the wife has my wage :lol: ) through playing with the band and private science tutoring.

i would love to swap the "science tutoring" with "beginners" guitar tutoring one day.

obviously, i am not at that level yet, but for all those teachers out there, how good do you feel somebody should be to advertise themselves as a beginners guitar teacher?
what should they be able to do/explain/play etc??

i know i am a long way from this, and i would never ask for money for a service i could not provide properly, but like i said, maybe one day??

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@dogbite)
Illustrious Member

good question.
I too have been thinking the very thing. someday I see myself living
outside the city; perhaps on a small hobby farm. I had thought to supplement
any income with teaching beginning guitar or lap steel /resonator /guitar.
maybe enough to pay taxes or tank heater electricity.

I would think being able to explain the why would enhance the how.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=644552
http://www.soundclick.com/couleerockinvaders

ReplyQuote
(@trguitar)
Famed Member

I have people asking me for lessons all the time ........ I don't want to do it. :roll: I could charge how much? Not near what I make at my real job, much less the time and 1/2 if I were to work OT. Almann, you are a teacher already and you can play the guitar. I say do it.

"Work hard, rock hard, eat hard, sleep hard,
grow big, wear glasses if you need 'em."
-- The Webb Wilder Credo --

ReplyQuote
(@eyeplayguitar)
Trusted Member