Clear all

Liability

11 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

This may be one for any UK members here - as i know the law maybe different in other countries.

We have been contacted by a hotel we are due to play a wedding at next month, they have asked about liability insurance and have said if we dont have it we cant play. Our singers brother is a lawyer, and he says there is no legal obligation to get this insurance.

We have never been asked for this before by any place we have played - if we get the insurance, (we have looked for quotes), then we will loose a big chunk of our wage for that night, but we also dont want to add it onto our fee as that would be unfair and unacceptable for the bride and groom - especially at this late stage.

does anybody know anything about this insurance?? or have any advice on what to do in this conundrum?

"I like to play that guitar. I have to stare at it while I'm playing it because I'm not very good at playing it."
Noel Gallagher (who took the words right out of my mouth)

(@scrybe)
Famed Member

Liability? Whaever for? Surely if your playing is that bad, they shouldn't let you play at all?

j/p - hopefully someone will be able to answer this seriously. as to who pays/should pay, what does your contract say? who organised the event? because imh(and limited)o, this should have been cleared ahead of time, and the venue should have informed the event organiser of this need for liability when the rooms were booked.

Ra Er Ga.

Ninjazz have SuperChops.

http://www.blipfoto.com/Scrybe

ReplyQuote
(@almann1979)
Noble Member
Topic starter  

I agree - why we are being contacted about this now - when we were booked for this wedding in january, i have no idea. I dont think the bride and groom are aware the hotel have contacted us about this - so maybe its an oversight by the hotel - im not sure.