Clear all

Listening

9 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
(@noteboat)
Illustrious Member
Topic starter  

As I get older (I've been an AARP member for a bit now), I know that I must be losing some of my hearing. But at the same time, as a full-time musician, I'm a very active listener, and I've noticed that my ability to distinguish small differences in sound has improved over the years.

On Saturday I get to the music school very early so I can practice for a couple hours before we open. After that I'm doing the daily stuff - which includes taking out the trash. So about five minutes ago I'm standing next to the dumpster outside on a crisp, cold, quiet morning... and I heard a sound that I at first thought was a squirrel moving around in a tree. So I look for the squirrel. And I see one - but that's not where the sound is coming from.

So I listen closer. And I realize that what I am hearing is the leaves separating from branches as they fall. I've never noticed this sound before. So I spent another minute listening, and I notice that the sound coming from the oaks is actually different in tone than the sound coming from the maples.

I'm curious - do other folks here notice sounds like this?

Guitar teacher offering lessons in Plainfield IL

(@gnease)
Illustrious Member