Clear all

Looking for a new guitar

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@kang9011)
Topic starter  

Hi guys
Im new here and im looking for a guitar, im a super noob in guitar and want to know what guitar would last me for 2-3 years?

(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

Welcome to GN, just browse the threads in this forum and narrow it down to what you are interested in.

Most people don't buy guitars based on how long they will last. Maybe you could narrow it down a little?

#4491....

ReplyQuote
(@kang9011)
Topic starter  

oh then what is a good guitar for beginners through professional skills?
something that you will never have to change even though your a nooob or a pro

ReplyQuote
(@twistedlefty)
Famed Member

that still does not narrow it down at all,

what kind of music are you going to want to play?
some will say start with an acoustic, others will say start with an electric,
what is your price range? there are guitars priced under $200 that will do fine to start with in both acoustic and electric.
your taste in music matters also, if electric, do you prefer the sound of Humbuckers, or single coils?
if acoustic, do you want to play classical, flamenco, rock & roll, bluegrass, or country?

as you progress your taste may change, your "ear" will evolve and the nuances of one type or make will mean more to you than when you first start.

Most will suggest getting a good teacher, he/she will be able to give advice based on their curriculum.

#4491....

ReplyQuote
(@dagwood)
Noble Member

Hey Kang,
Welcome.
There is a great article here that talks about buying guitars.
https://www.guitarnoise.com/lessons/how-to-buy-a-bass-guitar/

Its hard to answer your question directly. Its like asking "WHAT CAR SHOULD I BUY". There are so many options.

It depends on two key things that you need to decide on first.

1. Budget. How much money can you afford?
There are Great starter packs for under $300.

2. Acoustic or Electric?
Again, check some of the starter packs.