Clear all

Looking for amp advice

10 Posts
7 Users
0 Likes
(@chetzki)
Topic starter  

Hi all,

I'm ready to buy a new amplifier. Been doing a lot of research and would appreciate comments on some specific questions and any other advice. I am a hobbyist. Doubtful I would perform again, but I have in the past and I don't know where this is going. I just love to play guitar. I play Aerosmith, Led Zep, KISS, 80's hair band type music (Ratt, GnR, Motley) and really enjoy Metallica but not interested in playing anything heavier than that. I have an unmodified Gibson LP Studio and Fender Squire Strat with a humbucker at the bridge. I have a modeler and want to keep that outside the amp.

So I'm looking at relatively low power tube amps and willing to spend around a grand. This is bedroom level music. I'm apart from my neighbors enough not to be too annoying but want something small enough to get the sounds I want without being too loud. Looking for two channels and a loop for effects. Looking for that Marshall/LP sound I love so much without blowing everyone out.

1. combo or 1/2 stack? I prefer stack because of weight and flexibility and closed cabinet sound. Don't see myself moving it around a lot though. This is one of my biggest questions. What are the downsides of a combo? I've always been in love with that full stack Marshall look but of course I'm more interested in the sound. That's just what is burned in my brain watching my guitar heros!

2. I've been considering and reading reviews about Egnater 30W 1/2 stack with 12" speaker, Mesa Boogie 5-25 12" combo, Bugera V22 combo (only $350) and the new Marshall MA series coming out soon.