Maple vs. Rosewood?

31 Posts
17 Users
0 Likes
13.1 K Views
(@phillyblues)
Estimable Member
Topic starter  

Not sure if this is the write place to pose this question, but is there a difference in playability between an electric guitar with a rosewood fret board vs. a maple fret board. I'm new to playing and have a maple fret board on my guitar, but was just wondering what would generally lead someone to purchase a guitar with one vs. the other (or is it just a matter of personal taste).

(@gnease)
Illustrious Member

Definitely a Your Milage May Vary situation:

Looks aside, they sound a bit different (simplistically: maple is snappier; rosewood mellower), and feel different. But not all rosewoods and not all maples are created or finished to equal satisfaction of the player. I have played maples I love, as well as maples I hate. Gotta try what you will buy ...

-=tension & release=-

ReplyQuote
(@citizennoir)
Noble Member

I agree with Greg.

Rosewood boards are warm and mellow and have a slow note decay.
They are also known for creating a desireable 'note bloom' effect.

Maple boards are slightly cooler sounding and allow a snappier note with a somewhat faster decay.

While we're here, I may as well mention Ebony boards as well ~ They are colder than maple, and have the fastest note decay.

Of the three, maple boards are the only finished one.
These days usually in polyurathane or polyester.
In the old days it was nitrocellulose lacquer.

They still make lacquer finished maple on vintage re-issue guitars.
For some reason though, they seem kinda sticky, and that turns alot of people off.

Fender switched to rosewood in.... '59 I believe, because the finish wore off of the maple boards
relatively easy, and Leo was getting some negative feedback about it.
Although today, those wore-out maple boards are pretty desireable.

I've heard many people say they prefer rosewood over maple because they can 'feel the wood' while they play.