Clear all

Music's role in the future

22 Posts
11 Users
0 Likes
(@oenyaw)
Reputable Member
Topic starter  

Here's one I've been contemplating lately. What will be the role of music in the future? Not, what will music be like, or what is the next trend, but the actual place music occupies in society. I have been observing the music business for years, I mean many years. It seems to me that the role of music is approaching a change. Here's a theory. Bat it around if you like. The more arguments, the merrier. Pre-20th century, music was a personal level. Entertainment at home was restricted to if someone played an instrument. Or, if you had the money, you had a mechanical device that played. (There's a fantastic collection of mechanical musical instruments at the Flager Museum in St. Augustine if you are ever interested.) Then came the recording, victrolla's, tape recording, records, and it all changed quite quickly. All the sudden, there were stars. Popular singers and popular musicians, not just popular songs. Musicians became professionals, and the business of music took off. It's interesting how the changes took place over the years. I've read that The Beatles "Rubber Soul" was the first album where the artist a) picked the songs b) the album name and c) the cover. After the 1960's, there has been a constant drive on the part of the music business to find the next pop star. I think that the problem lies in the fact that our society has become so diverse, that no one person can symbolize what the population desires. The search for the next popular singer has been reduced to a pathetic game show.