Clear all

New to Guitar world,

26 Posts
13 Users
0 Likes
(@dragoonx)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

Hey everyone! First let me say nice board here =)

Anyways, I'm a fan of heavy music but never had the money to spare for an instrument. Now I think I can start saving for something I've wanted for years, in the mean time I'll hope I can bug you guys with some newbie questions =)

So I was thinking of buying an electric guitar, but everyone advises against that and I don't blame them... except I dont "feel" the sounds of an acoustic, if that makes sense? Would it beast viable to get an electric with a cheap amp just to start?

Also; I've been looking at low priced BC Rich and the Warlock and Warbeast line really attracted me. Would paying slightly higher for a higher tier model be better for the long run?

Anyways, sorry if this is a lot to answer, I appreciate any help heading my way ^^;

(@monster)

Hi and welcome Dragoonx!!! :D

I'm pretty new to learning guitar as well so take this advice for what it is. :)

I think a big incentive to deciding to play guitar (and more importantly continue at it after you first realize you aren't very good at it starting out :) ) is to play what interests you.

You say "heavy music" so I'm taking that to mean metal of some sort. My advice would be to go and get an electric guitar and amp and if you are wanting to self-learn then get something like Troy Stetina's book "Metal Rhythm Guitar Vol. 1". Power chords are pretty easy to learn and Stetina starts slipping in more conventional open chords as the book progresses. More importantly, you start right away playing some heavy stuff and that goes a long way towards keeping your interest high. And of course there's lots of lessons available here at GN as well as other sites.