Notifications
Clear all

PRS se custom or Epiphone Les Paul?

16 Posts
10 Users
0 Likes
(@thenewchance)
Topic starter  

Hey. I'm new to this forum, so if this is in the wrong section, I really apologize, moderators feel free to move this post. I've been playing guitar for about 1 1/2 years now, and I started out with a pretty low end guitar (I didn't want to spend that much money and risk not even liking guitar that much). Well, my worries are over about that, I love playing guitar, and I'm thinking of upgrading to a more "high end" guitar. I've been reading countless reviews online and I've narrowed my choices down to 2 guitars:
PRS se custom (A guy plays this who goes to my school, he says it's an amazing guitar)
Epiphone Les paul (one of the ones under $650)

I play mainly rock, alternative, metal, alternative metal, some other stuff.

Any advice? :mrgreen:

(@katmetal)
Prominent Member

I suppose either guitar would be a good chose. Choosing an instrument is a very personal matter (as I have found out in the past, when I purchased a Christmas present for an individual who did nothing but complain about the action, but it felt great to me). That being said, I think I would be tempted to go for the PRS se custom. That is a very sweet sounding guitar, & looks good as well.

I am assuming that you are not interested in a trem. equipped guitar? If you are, have a look at the new Michael Kelly Hex Deluxe guitar; EMG's & an original Floyd Rose for the same money as the PRS. I recently purchased one & it is a beautiful sounding/playing instrument.

Just my .02 :mrgreen:

Good luck, & let us know what you decide on!

ReplyQuote
(@dan-t)
Illustrious Member

I have an Epi Les Paul standard, and it's a great guitar. Highly recommend it. I've never played a PRS, so can't comment on that. Play them both & see which one feels best to you.

Good luck,
Dan

"The only way I know that guarantees no mistakes is not to play and that's simply not an option". David Hodge

ReplyQuote